• My Media & Media Gallery: Private vs Published Videos

Usually, any media you create or upload in Canvas is stored in your personal collection of media items called MY MEDIA (see the article "Reuse Content in Canvas: About "My Media" & "Media Gallery")

 

PRIVATE IS THE DEFAULT

By default, a video you upload or store in your MY MEDIA personal "bucket" of media items is tagged as PRIVATE, meaning only the owner of that MY MEDIA collection can access and view the item.

For other participants to view a private media item, it must be PUBLISHED. This occurs in two ways: (1) Auto Publishing and (2) Manual Publishing.

 

  AUTO PUBLISHING

If you are actually embedding a video into a Canvas Page, Discussion, Assignment or Blog, you are using the video recording tools integrated into Canvas. After creating or uploading a video, and you actually submit that video into your Canvas activity, that video is "auto-published." Others in the Canvas course will automatically be able to view the video, although they don't have the privilege to repurpose your auto-published video.

 

  MANUAL PUBLISHING

In order for all participants in a Canvas course to have access to media items and be able to repurpose them, they can be "published" using a manual procedure.  Once published, the media item becomes part of a course specific collection called MEDIA GALLERY (see the article "Reuse Content in Canvas: About "My Media" & "Media Gallery").   Otherwise, the videos remain private to the content owner and course instructor (except as noted in "Auto Publishing").

Below are the instructions for manually publishing a video or media item so others in a course have access to and may repurpose that item.

  

  LOGIN TO CANVAS COURSE

Be sure to log into the specific Canvas Course in which you want to publish a video from your personal My Media collection. 

 

  IMPORT VIDEO INTO MY MEDIA

In order to publish videos in a specific Canvas course, you must first import videos into your personal collection called My Media. Refer to the following Knowledge Article to find out how to import pre-existing videos into My Media:

Import Pre-existing Videos into My Media in Canvas

 

  GO TO MY MEDIA

To begin the procedure for publishing your videos, click My Media in the left-hand navigation of your Canvas Course. A listing of your files will display.

 

 

  SELECT VIDEO FILES

Since you have already imported video files into My Media, you are now able to publish them. Click on the check box to the left of any video file you wish to publish (you can select multiple videos.)

 

  PUBLISH VIDEO FILES

Select the ACTIONS drop-down menu in the upper right side of the screen and click on +PUBLISH from the pick list of options.

 

  SET ACCESS CONTROL

For the video files you are publishing, you have the option to keep them Private to the content owner, or to make them available to other users in a Canvas course. Select the radio button labeled PUBLISHED, and wait a few moments while the file or files are moved from My Media to the Media Gallery. 

 

  SET WHICH COURSES

From a list of Canvas Courses in which you participate, select which courses will display your published videos ("Publish in Channel").

 

 

  SAVE

Click the Save button near the bottom of the page.

 

  CONFIRMATION

After saving, scroll up on the Canvas page and see the following message in a green background: "Media successfully published / unpublished." The published file should now appear in the MEDIA GALLERY area of the Canvas Course.

 

 

Powered by Zendesk